The Periodic Paralysis Association (PPA) welcomes you to our non-profit organization!

Periodic Paralysis is a group of disorders whereby patients become weak due to triggers such as rest after exercise or certain foods.  These disorders are part of a broader class of disorders called ion channelopathies, in which a genetic defect in a muscle ion channel results in symptoms of episodic stiffness or weakness in response to certain triggers.

  • Are you a Patient, Family Member, or Physician seeking information?
  • Are you interested in Membership in the PPA and access to our ListServ?
  • Would you like to ask a question of our Medical Advisors at “Ask the Experts” ?

These questions and more are answered within our site.  Please feel free to browse the menu on the left as well as our highlights at the bottom of this screen!  We welcome you to the PPA and will do our best to assist you as you search for answers about these rare diseases

 

Watch a video over the PPA

Read a general Article on Hypokalemic Periodic Paralysis

This site does not deal with paralysis due to stroke or spinal cord injury, but does contain some information about sleep paralysis, which is sometimes confused with periodic paralysis.


Latest news

Primary Periodic Paralysis Webinar
Mark your calendars for Wednesday, October 18th from 7-8pm (ET). (6-7pm CT, 5-6pm MT, 4-5pm PT). Join us for an
Read more.
Webstream and photos Scottsdale online
The second day of the PPA Scottsdale Conference 2017 is successfully ended. To give you an impression of the conference,
Read more.
Video stream during Conference
During the conference a live video stream will be available for those who cannot attend. The stream is available on
Read more.